ASEAN | India and East Asia Submit

On August 8, 1967 the "Bangkok Declaration" gave birth to Asean (Association of Southeast Asian Nations), an organisation that would unite five countries in a joint effort to promote economic co-operation and the welfare of their peoples.
This five-member grouping of Southeast Asian countries comprising Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand would over the span of 44 years grow to become a strong-linked geo-political and economic organisation of countries occupying the prosperous Southeast Asia region. Since then, its membership has expanded to include Brunei, Myanmar, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam.
Asean is a geo-political and economic organisation of 10 countries located in the Southeast Asia region covering 4.46 million sqm with a population of approximately 600 million people. Its combined nominal GDP had grown to US$1.8 trillion in 2010. As a single entity, Asean would rank as the ninth largest economy in the world.

East Asia Summit
The East Asia Summit (EAS) is a forum held annually by the leaders of 16 countries in East Asia and the region, with ASEAN in a leadership position. The summit has discussed issues including trade, energy and security and the summit has a role in regional community building.
The members of the summit are all 10 members of ASEAN together with China, Japan, South Korea, India, Australia and New Zealand who combined represent almost half of the world's population. At the October 2010 EAS, Russia and the United States were both formally invited to participate as full members, and each country will be participating at the head of state level in October 2011 submit.