Which is the first Atomic Power Station of India

Through this online GK question series, currentaffairsindia.info presents the most relevant model questions on General Knowledge. These questions are applicable to all UPSC exams, PSC Exams, Railway Recruitment Exams, Bank PO and clerical exams and various other competitive exams. Any comments/doubts are welcomed!! 

1. The first Atomic Power Station in India?
(a) Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project
(b) Koodankulam Nuclear Power Plant
(c) Tarapur Nuclear Power Plant
(d) Kalpakkam Nuclear Power Plant

Did you know

Nuclear power is the fourth-largest source of electricity in India after thermal, hydroelectric and renewable sources of electricity. As of now India has 20 nuclear reactors in operation in six nuclear power plants, generating 4,780 MW. India's nuclear power industry is undergoing rapid expansion with plans to increase nuclear power output to 64,000 MW by 2032. India's three-stage vision was first set out in the 1950s by the father of the country’s nuclear programme, physicist Homi Bhabha. On returning from his studies at Cambridge University in the UK, Bhabha conceived a nuclear strategy that would work around India’s rather meagre resources of uranium, the fuel powering current commercial reactors. Instead, he sought to exploit the country's vast reserves of thorium, which - if bathed in an external supply of neutrons - can be used a nuclear fuel. 
Read more about Indian Nuclear Power Plants