What is IAEA

International Atomic Energy Agency - IAEA - is an international organization meant for the promotion of peaceful use of nuclear energy and to inhibit the use of nuclear weapons. IAEA reports to both the UN General Assembly and Security Council. It was established as an autonomous organization on 29 July 1957 and has it headquarters in Vienna, Austria. The IAEA has two Regional Safeguards Offices which are located in Toronto, Canada, and in Tokyo, Japan.
As an international organization, IAEA encourages the peaceful usage of nuclear technology for world's growing energy needs and promotes nuclear safety. It provides international safeguards against the misuse of nuclear technology and nuclear materials. Currently IAEA has 151 member nations. Some notable non member countries are North Korea, Maldives and Bhutan. North Korea was a Member State from 1974–1994, but withdrew after the Board of Governors found it in non-compliance with its safeguards agreement and suspended most technical cooperation. Cambodia became a member in 1958, withdrew its membership in 2003, and rejoined 2009.

List of Directors General
W. Sterling Cole (United States) - 1957 to 1961
Sigvard Eklund (Sweden) - 1961 to 1981
Hans Blix (Sweden) - 1981 to 1997
Mohamed ElBaradei (Egypt)  - 1997 to 2009
Yukiya Amano (Japan)  - 2009 to present

IAEA and Mohamed ElBaradei were jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize of 2005.

International Convention on Supplementary Compensation.
  • In 1997, many of the world's governments took a significant step forward in improving the liability regime for nuclear damage.
  • At a Diplomatic Conference at International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), delegates from over 80 States adopted a Protocol to Amend the 1963 Vienna Convention on Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage and also adopted a Convention on Supplementary Compensation for Nuclear Damage.
  • CSC provides a framework to deal with compensation in the event of a nuclear accident in a nuclear power plant or during transportation of nuclear material.